Boro Player Of The Year Awards

Last night, Scarborough Athletic celebrated the end of the league season in style at The Crown Spa Hotel on the Esplanade, at their Annual Player Of The Year Awards ceremony.

After a season to remember for the club, returning back to play in the town after a decade in exile and culminating in promotion to the Evo-Stik Premier, Boro players, management, officials and supporters were all in attendance for the Awards Evening.

The club presented players with 6 awards including The Golden Boot, Supporters' Player Of The Year, Players' Player Of The Year and, of course, Boro boss, Steve Kittrick presented his own Player Of The Year award.

Top goal scorer, Michael Coulson, made a triple appearance at the event as he scooped The Golden Boot, Players' Player Of The Year and 1st place in the Supporters' Player Of The Year. Meanwhile, Boro Keeper, Tommy Taylor got his hands on both the Away Game Player Of The Year and Managers' Player Of The Year.

Defender, Jack Johnson, sealed the Young Player Of The Year award. Grimsby loanee, Max Wright and Captain, Dave Merris, took home 2nd and 3rd place for the Supporters' Player Of The Year, respectively.

The awards began with Chairman Trevor Bull announcing that former director Sandra Troughton was to be awarded a Life Membership of the club for her outstanding contribution to Scarborough Athletic spanning over a decade right from the very start back in 2007.

There was also recognition for Jane Daniel for all of her hard work behind the scenes on sponsorship and liaising with local businesses and to Club Communications Officer, Will Baines, who, after 5 years with the club will relinquish his role following the North Riding Senior Cup Final against Middlesbrough U23's on Wednesday night.

In summary, the awards were presented as follows:

The Golden Boot: Michael Coulson (42 goals)
Away Game Player Of The Year: Tommy Taylor
Young Player Of The Year: Jack Johnson
Managers' Player Of The Year: Tommy Taylor
Players' Player Of The Year: Michael Coulson
Supporters' Player Of The Year: 1st - Michael Coulson, 2nd - Max Wright and 3rd - Dave Merris

Photographs from the evening and further reaction to follow.
« Back to news

Latest Tweets

RT @DoweySarah: Thank you to all our supporters who sponsored @saintcathsuk shirts for today’s match. A fantastic cause & a great result @s

RT @nigelcarson: What a brilliant set of fans at @safc today chearing my little lad on! I filmed 25 efforts well saved by the keeper twice…

Latest Articles